Day Twenty Eight

T-3. Getting close now.

I’ve seen an ad pop up on my feed about Oktoberfest. I have never been but I’m quite keen on this period of the year. There is a Bavarian themed restaurant/club/pub in Birmingham called the Bierkeller with a thigh-slappin’ Oompah band complete with Lederhosen! I went years ago and remember having a proper good night, slopping beer around and swaying to the band, I think we also ended up dancing on the tables.

Any festivities where beer is concerned is a friend of mine. My grandparents were Irish, both from Dublin. Anyone who’s been to Dublin knows what it means to have a drop of the black stuff while singing Molly Malone in Temple Bar. St. Patrick’s day is now famous around the world with parades and plastic paddies jumping on the bandwagon, and I along with them.

One such St. Paddy’s day I spent with my brother hopping from bar to bar, downing Guinness (with blackcurrant…yes, sacrilege I know but it was far too bitter for me back in the day) and I ended up getting through 7 pints…and a platter of fried onion rings, chicken wings and other fried food that makes me feel sick even now thinking about it). Guinness used to be advertised as being good for you, it was promoted to pregnant women because of it containing iron. But, my god, after 7 pints of the stuff I was literally bursting at the seams!! And the thing is with Guinness, it is quite impossible to get drunk on it. No idea why. Believe me, I’ve tried.

My limit with beer is probably around 5/6 pints, some reading this may find that a lot but I have a high threshold when it comes to alcohol. Although I doubt that is true now, after a month off. I’ll find out next week! I honestly think it’ll bloat me up too much now that I’m used to not drinking it. That’s probably a good thing, it means I’ll have to drink less…whether I like it or not.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started